Evan Roos of Boishaai wins Craven Week Player of the Year 2018

Deserved winner Evan Roos (Paarl Boys’ High, Western Province, SA Schools) who played an instrumental part in his team’s Craven Week success became just the second schoolboy rugby forward to walk off with the Craven Week Player of the Year, awarded at the annual South African Rugby awards ceremony.

2018 Evan Roos HJS Paarl BH Western Province No.8
2017 Sanele Nohamba Durban High School KwaZulu-Natal Scrumhalf
2016 Damian Willemse Paul Roos Western Province Flyhalf
2015 Ernst van Rhyn Paarl Gymnasium Western Province Flank
2014 Curwin Bosch Grey High Eastern Province Flyhalf
2013 Grant Hermanus Paarl Gymnasium Western Province Wing
2012 Sergeal Petersen Grey High Eastern Province Wing
2011 Jan Serfontein Grey College Free State Centre
2010 Johan Goosen Grey College Free State Flyhalf
2009 Andile Jho Dale College Border Centre
2008 Sampie Mastriet HTS Drostdy Boland Wing
2007 Wilton Pietersen Outeniqua in 2006 Free State Wing

The main senior rugby award went to Pieter-Steph du Toit who claimed his second SA Rugby Player of the Year title.

Full list of winners:

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit

Other nominees: Aphiwe Dyanyti, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Handré Pollard

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Sbu Nkosi

Other nominees: Aphelele Fassi, Embrose Papier, RG Snyman, Damian Willemse

Team of the Year: Springbok Sevens

Other nominees: Lions (Super Rugby), Sharks (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year: Neil Powell

Other nominees: Swys de Bruin, Rassie Erasmus

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Dylan Sage

Other nominees: Werner Kok, Ruhan Nel

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Wandisile Simelane

Other nominees: Salmaan Moerat, Tyrone Green, Damian Willemse

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament: Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions)

Other nominees: Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert (both Lions)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (Western Province)

Other nominees: SP Marais (Western Province), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Etienne Taljaard (Valke)

Other nominees: Divan Nel (SWD Eagles), Anrich Richter (Valke)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year: Chris Smith (Pumas)

Other nominees: Enver Brandt (Griquas), Ruwellyn Isbell (Pumas), Stefan Ungerer (Pumas)

Craven Week Player of the Tournament

Evan Roos (Western Province)

Referee of the Year

Jaco Peyper

Women’s Achiever of the Year

Nolusindiso Booi


  1. Are these subjective selections (based on impression) or are there some empirical metrics in use – or both?

  2. @Grizzly: jip out of the 2018 group in SA i can see him and the tightheadprop of PRG making it to s15 level.

    and maybe the 9 from Glenwood-he has natural ability

  3. Congrats to Evan Roos he is a superb player. His dad Erik can be very proud of the lad. I agree with @boerboel: both Evan and Bunny (PRG #3) have what it takes to make a success. Dare I say they seem to be at the right place now as well to launch their careers (which will make Beet happy).


Leave a Reply