Progress of SA Schools 2012 vs England u18 2012 in 2018

Here’s an attempt to measure the progress of SA Schools and England under-18 rugby players 6 seasons after their national age-group achievement.

Rating system used:

5 = made it all the way to the top
4 = rising star
3 = regular 1st choice in a top level competition
2 = provincial A-section player
1 = hanging in there
0 = disappeared


SA Schools 2012

1 Prop Pierre Schoeman Affies Blue Bulls 3 Bulls
2 Prop Dayan van der Westhuizen Centurion Blue Bulls 2 EP
3 Prop Wilco Louw Drostdy Boland 5 WP Springbok
4 Prop Ox Nche Louis Botha Free State 4 Free State Springbok
5 Hooker Francois Esterhuyzen Overberg Boland 1 Boland
6 Hooker Malcolm Marx KES Golden Lions 5 Lions Springbok
7 Hooker Chad Solomon Paul Roos Western Province 1 WP
8 Lock Nicolaas Jv Rensburg Affies Blue Bulls 3 Montpellier
9 Lock Abongile Nonkontwana St Albans Blue Bulls 2 Bulls
10 Lock Gideon Koegelenberg Hugenote Boland 1 Sharks
11 Lock Daniël du Preez Kearsney KwaZulu-Natal 4 Sharks Springbok
12 Lock JD Schickerling Paarl Gim Western Province 4 WP
13 Flank Thabo Mabuza Centurion Blue Bulls 1 Griquas
14 Flank Jean-Luc du Preez Kearsney KwaZulu-Natal 5 Sharks Springbok
15 No.8 Aidon Davis Daniel Pienaar Eastern Province 1 Toulon
16 No.8 Jano Venter HTS Middelberg Pumas 2 Bulls
17 Scrumhalf Justin Phillips Waterkloof Blue Bulls 3 WP
18 Scrumhalf Akhona Sihunu Dale Border 0 Lions
19 Flyhalf Ryno Eksteen Affies Blue Bulls 2 Free State
20 Flyhalf Handré Pollard Paarl Gim Western Province 5 Bulls Springbok
21 Centre Jurie Linde Affies Blue Bulls 0 Lions
22 Centre Rohan Jv Rensburg Waterkloof Blue Bulls 4 Lions Springbok
23 Centre Sandile Kubeka Kearsney KwaZulu-Natal 0 Sharks
24 Centre Warrick Gelant Outeniqua South Western Districts 5 Bulls Springbok
25 Wing Sergeal Petersen Grey PE Eastern Province 3 Free State
26 Wing Matjikinyane Molapo Ben Vorster Limpopo Bulls 0 EP
27 Wing Duhan van der Merwe Outeniqua South Western Districts 4 Edinburgh
28 Fullback Jesse Kriel Maritzburg Coll KwaZulu-Natal 5 Bulls Springbok

England 2012

Stephen Uren Filton College Bristol Rugby Forward 0 N/A – poss. Plymoth Albion
Joel Conlon Ivybridge Community College Exeter Chiefs Forward 3 Saracens
Charlie Ewels Bryanston School Bath Rugby Forward 5 Bath England
Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi Moulton College Northampton Saints Forward 3 London Irish
David Hughes Twyford C& E High School London Wasps Forward 0 Cambridge Uni RFC
Maro Itoje Harrow School Saracens Forward 5 Saracens England
Sam James Bishops Stortford Saracens Forward 2 Beford Blues
Gus Jones Eton College London Wasps Forward 2 Oxford Uni RFC
Alex Lundberg Hampton London Wasps Forward 2 London Wasps
Ross Moriarty Hartpury College Gloucester Forward 5 Gloucester Wales
Jake Oldaker Wellington College Bath Rugby Forward 0 N/A
Harry Rudkin Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth 1st Leicester Tigers Forward 0 N/A
Harry Thacker Leicester Grammar Leicester Tigers Forward 4 Leicester Tigers
Biyi Alo Haileybury College Saracens Forward 3 Worcester Warriors
Callum Braley Hartpury College Bristol Rugby Back 3 Gloucester
Billy Burns Hartpury College Gloucester Rugby Back 4 Gloucester
Nick Carpenter Filton College Bristol Rugby Back 2 Hartbury
George Catchpole Leicester Grammar Leicester Tigers Back 2 Leicester Tigers
Ollie Claxton Bromsgrove School Unattached Back 0 N/A – semi pro
Nathan Earle Oaklands Saracens Back 4 Harlequins
Zach Kibirige Yarm School Newcastle Falcons Back 2 Newcastle Falcons
Sam Olver Oundle School Northampton Saints Back 3 Worcester Warriors
Howard Packman Moulton College Northampton Saints Back 2 Bedford Blues
Tom Stephenson Moulton College Northampton Saints Back 3 Northampton Saints
Nick Tompkins Oaklands Saracens Back 4 Saracens
Josh Watkins Bromsgrove School Worcester Warriors Back 0 N/A

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply