SA u20 for 2018 still in the wilderness

An initial South Africa under-20 training squad for the World Rugby u20 Championships has been organised and players have been invited to attend. However it seems like this information in not for the general public’s consumption for some or other mysterious reason. Every Bok supporter is crying out for SA rugby to get their act together, work harder, get more efficient, get more professional but it just doesn’t seem to be happening. Winning the u20 Championships is an achievable objective for SARU, however the Baby Boks preparations for the event have been a bit of a joke over the past few years. It needs to get a lot more focussed if SA is to pose a more serious challenge for the title and it all begins with the people involved in the process adopting a far more professional approach.


World Rugby has announced that France will host the World Rugby U20 Championship in 2018 with matches being played in Béziers, Perpignan and Narbonne.

The five match days will take place on 30 May, 3 June, 7 June, 12 June and 17 June 2018.

The tournament features three pools of four teams, with the pool winners and the best runner-up progressing to the semi-finals.

Pool A: New Zealand, Australia, Wales and Japan
Pool B: England, Scotland, Italy and Argentina
Pool C: South Africa, France, Ireland and Georgia

Reigning champs New Zealand have already held a December 2017 training camp for 52 hopefuls as a first step towards defending that title.


Forwards Backs
1 John Akau’ola-Laula Auckland 1 Wiseguy Faiane Auckland
2 Sione Asi Manawatu 2 Leicester Faingaanuku Tasman
3 Suetena Asomua Counties Manukau 3 Scott Gregory Northland
4 Tom Christie Canterbury 4 Jack Grooby Tasman
5 Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta Tasman 5 Ciarahn Matoe Taranaki
6 Rob Cobb Auckland 6 Rupena Parkinson Tasman
7 Jacob Devery Hawkes Bay 7 Harry Plummer Auckland
8 Sosaia Fale Waikato 8 Rameka Poihipi Canterbury
9 Tim Farrell Hawkes Bay 9 Carlos Price Wellington
10 Devan Flanders Hawkes Bay 10 Billy Proctor Wellington
11 Tom Florence Taranaki 11 Ngane Punivai Canterbury
12 Brayden Iose Manawatu 12 Jay Renton Southland
13 Ricky Jackson Otago 13 Xavier Roe Waikato
14 Joe Johnson Bay of Plenty 14 Jamie Spowart Tasman
15 Josh Kaho Waikato 15 Bailyn Sullivan Waikato
16 Tevita Mafileo Bay of Plenty 16 Tanielu Tele’a Auckland
17 Slade McDowall Otago 17 Danny Toala Hawkes Bay
18 Laghlan McWhannell Waikato 18 Salyn Tonu’u North Harbour
19 Sam Moli Tasman 19 Sheldon Tovio Waikato
20 Ajay Mua Bay of Plenty 20 Kaleb Trask Bay of Plenty
21 Xavier Numia Wellington
22 Waimana Reidlinger-Kapa Auckland
23 Ben Sa’u Auckland
24 Bradley Slater Taranaki
25 Hoskins Sotutu Auckland
26 Cameron Suafoa Auckland
27 Sione Talitui Auckland
28 Flynn Thomas Southland
29 Will Tucker Canterbury
30 Kaliopasi Uluilakepa Wellington
31 Tupou Va’ai Taranaki
32 Ricky Van Der Heyden Bay of Plenty

Not considered due to Super Rugby or Sevens commitments: Caleb Clarke (Auckland), Will Jordan (Tasman), Vilimoni Koroi (Otago). Not considered due to injury: Will Tremain (Hawke’s Bay), Raymond Nu’u (Canterbury).

Meanwhile North of the Equator strong u20 title contenders England along with the other North Hemisphere heavyweights gear up for their very meaningful u20 6 Nations Championship: 5 test match conditions games over 2 months beginning in February that will go a long way to preparing them for the World Rugby tournament starting in June. It wasn’t too difficult to find their 32-man elite squad online either.

England U20 EPS 2017/18

Forwards: Josh Basham (London Irish), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), Beck Cutting (Worcester Warriors), Ben Earl (Saracens), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Dino Lamb (Harlequins), Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers), Sam Moore (Sale Sharks), Joe Morris (Worcester Warriors), Gabriel Oghre (Wasps), James Scott (Worcester Warriors), Alex Seville (Gloucester), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs), Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints), Henry Walker (Gloucester), Tom Willis (Wasps)

Backs: Rory Brand (London Irish), Will Butler (Worcester Warriors), Aaron Chapman (Bristol), Ali Crossdale (Saracens), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints), James Grayson (Northampton Saints), Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers), Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins), Ben Loader (London Irish), Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers), Tom Parton (London Irish), Tom Seabrook (Gloucester), Joe Snow (Exeter Chiefs), Ben White (Leicester Tigers), Matt Williams (London Irish)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply