Western Province Craven Week teams 2010-2018

I took a chance and picked my WP Craven Week team of the decade so far. With so many good players at their disposal every season, there are probably tens of different selection combinations that would translate to a  quality 23-player squad.

  2010     2011     2012  
1 Steven Kitshoff Paul Roos 1 Tshepo Motale Bishops 1 Morne Nortje Tygerberg
2 Stephan Coetzee HJS Paarl BH 2 Chad Solomon Paul Roos 2 Chad Solomons Paul Roos
3 Maks Van Dyk HJS Paarl BH 3 Jacobus van der Merwe HJS Paarl BH 3 Liam Hendricks HJS Paarl BH
4 Rayn Smid Rondebosch 4 Sebastian Ferreira HJS Paarl BH 4 Sebastian Ferreira HJS Paarl BH
5 Braam Steyn Paul Roos 5 Ryno vd Merwe HJS Paarl BH 5 JD Schikerling Paarl Gim
6 Beyers de Villiers HJS Paarl BH 6 Ramone Samuels Paul Roos 6 Ramone Samuels Paul Roos
7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe Wynberg 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe Wynberg 7 Jacques Vermeulen Paarl Gim
8 Cobus Smit Paarl Gim 8 Andres Dercksen Paul Roos 8 Rikus Bothma Paarl Gim
9 Gerhard Jordaan Boland Lb. 9 Jean Nel HJS Paarl BH 9 Pieter Schoonraad HJS Paarl BH
10 Gavin Hauptfleisch HJS Paarl BH 10 Tim Swiel Bishops 10 Handre Pollard Paarl Gim
11 Heinrich Arendse Scotsdene 11 JP Lewis Paul Roos 11 Grant Hermanus Paarl Gim
12 Kobus van Wyk Paarl Gim 12 Kyle Lombard Paul Roos 12 Wesley Cupido Paarl Gim
13 Tshotsho Mbovane Paul Roos 13 Justin Gedult Tygerberg 13 Michal Hazner Paul Roos
14 JP Lewis Paul Roos 14 Dalen Goliath Paul Roos 14 Dalen Goliath Paul Roos
15 Craig Barry Paul Roos 15 Cheslin Kolbe Brackenfell 15 Jason Worral Paul Roos
16 Jandre Conradie Paarl Gim 16 Craig Corbett HJS Paarl BH 16 Craig Corbett HJS Paarl BH
17 Tshepo Motale Bishops 17 Etienne Swanepoel Tygerberg 17 Wesley Adonis HJS Paarl BH
18 Marvin Orie Tygerberg 18 Clyde Davids Paarl Gim 18 Burger van Niekerk HJS Paarl BH
19 Andres Dercksen Paul Roos 19 Tarquin Carlsson Bishops 19 Corne Cooper Paarl Gim
20 Cheslin Kolbe Brackenfell 20 Andre Warner Tygerberg 20 SP Ferreira Paul Roos
21 Errol Jaggers Paul Roos 21 Handre Pollard Paarl Gim 21 Dennis Cox Excelsior
22 Devon Williams HJS Paarl BH 22 Michal Hazner Paul Roos 22 Keagon Gordon Boland Lb.
23 Pieter Stemmet Paul Roos 23     23    
24 L Abrahams HJS Paarl BH 24     24    
  2013     2014     2015  
1  Thomas du Toit  HJS Paarl BH 1 Gavin van den Berg Paarl Gim 1 Ashwyn Adams Rondebosch
2  Daniel du Plessis  HJS Paarl BH 2 Jacques van Zyl Paul Roos 2 Johan Grobbelaar Paarl Gim
3  Francois van der Merwe  HJS Paarl BH 3 JP Smith Bishops 3 Carlu Sadie Bellville
4 Burger Van Niekerk  HJS Paarl BH 4 Jaco Willemse Paarl Gim 4 Ernst van Rhyn Paarl Gim
5  JD Schickerling  Paarl Gim 5 Ruben De Villiers HJS Paarl BH 5 Ruben de Villiers HJS Paarl BH
6  Charlton Jonas  HJS Paarl BH 6 Mervano Da Silva Bishops 6 Johan Visser Paarl Gim
7  Jacques Vermeulen  Paarl Gim 7 Zain Davids Rondebosch 7 Zain Davids Rondebosch
8 Rikus Bothma Paarl Gim 8 Saul Abrahams Bishops 8 Khanya Ncusane HJS Paarl BH
9 Herchelle Jantjies  Paul Roos 9 Herschel Jantjies Paul Roos 9 Jondre Williams Boland Lb.
10  Dennis Cox Excelsior 10 J. MacIntyre (INJ) Bishops 10 Damian Willemse Paul Roos
11  Dewald Naude HJS Paarl BH 11 Edwill vd Merwe Paul Roos 11 Tyreeq February HJS Paarl BH
12  Daniel du Plessis  Paul Roos 12 Edrich Venter Paul Roos 12 Manual Rass HJS Paarl BH
13  Ryan Oosthuizen  Paarl Gim 13 Justin Heunis Bishops 13 Cornel Smit Bishops
14 Grant Hermanus Paarl Gim 14 Duncan Saal Kasselsvlei 14 Nico Leonard Paul Roos
15 Khanyo Ngcukana  Rondebosch 15 Gerard Pieterse Bishops 15 Joshua Vermeulen Paul Roos
16 Ruan Brits  HJS Paarl BH 16 Shane Farmer Tygerberg 16 Shane Farmer Tygerberg
17  Gavin van den Berg  Paarl Gim 17 Wikus Groenewald HJS Paarl BH 17 Wikus Groenewald HJS Paarl BH
18  Brett Paulse  Rondebosch 18 Jerome Korf Paul Roos 18 Leo Kruger HJS Paarl BH
19 Saud Abrahams Bishops 19 Charl-Frans Du Toit (INJ) HJS Paarl BH 19 Salmaan Moerat HJS Paarl BH
20  Damian Stevens  HJS Paarl BH 20 Jondre Williams Boland Lb. 20 Brandon Salomo Bishops
21 Siya Alam Wynberg 21 Aidynn Cupido Paul Roos 21 George Lourens Paarl Gim
22  Heinrich Bühr Boland Lb. 22 Ryan Muller Bellville 22 Ryan Muller Bellville
23     23 Emile Cloete Paul Roos 23    
24     24 Tiaan Swanepoel Stellenberg 24    
  2016     2017     2018  
1 Andre Booysen Paarl Gim 1 Hugo Pienaar Paarl Gim 1 Robbie Rodgers Paul Roos
2 Daniel Jooste HJS Paarl BH 2 Joshua Muller Stellenberg 2 Jason Alexander Wynberg
3 Adam Neethling HJS Paarl BH 3 Tristan Leitch Paul Roos 3 Hanro Jacobs Paul Roos
4 Ben-Jason Dixon Paul Roos 4 Ian Kitwanga Parklands 4 Juan Beukes Paarl Gim
5 Salmaan Moerat HJS Paarl BH 5 Adrian Alberts HJS Paarl BH 5 Adrian Alberts HJS Paarl BH
6 Charl Serdyn HJS Paarl BH 6 Vian Fourie HJS Paarl BH 6 Justin Muller Bishops
7 Muller Uys Paarl Gim 7 Henco Martins Paarl Gim 7 Mhlali Mgolodela Rondebosch
8 Khanya Ncusane HJS Paarl BH 8 Francke Horn HJS Paarl BH 8 Evan Roos HJS Paarl BH
9 Vusile Dlepu SACS 9 Vusile Dlepu SACS 9 Dylan Alexander Paarl Gim
10 Damian Willemse Paul Roos 10 Quan Eymann Brackenfell 10 Juan Mostert Paul Roos
11 Muller du Plessis Paarl Gim 11 Thaakir Abrahams HJS Paarl BH 11 Stavino Jacobs Paarl Gim
12 Henlo Marais Boland Lb. 12 Rufus Dercksen Paul Roos 12 Brendan Venter Paul Roos
13 Manny Rass HJS Paarl BH 13 Dawid Kellerman Paarl Gim 13 Dawid Kellerman Paarl Gim
14 Mike Mavovana Rondebosch 14 Angelo Davids Stellenberg 14 Thoubaan Gabriels Rondebosch
15 Gianni Lombard HJS Paarl BH 15 Muller du Plessis Paarl Gim 15 Kade Wolhuter Paul Roos
16 Liam Larkan SACS 16 Christaan Rossouw Paarl Gim 16 JJ Kotze Paul Roos
17 Reece Bezuidenhout HJS Paarl BH 17 Alexander Mbete Paul Roos 17 Luthando Woji Wynberg
18 Tristan Leitch Paul Roos 18 Joshua du Preez HJS Paarl BH 18 Roubert Bester HJS Paarl BH
19 Jesse Johnson Paul Roos 19 Janko Swanepoel Stellenberg 19 Dylan de Leeuw Stellenberg
20 Athi Magwala Boland Lb. 20 Sujai Ikemefuna SACS 20 Romauld Ntumba Milnerton
21 Deon Carstens Boland Lb. 21 Gerado Jaars Paul Roos 21 William Rose Bishops
22 Lubelo Scott Bishops 22 Mogamat Karriem Rangers 22 Tiaan Pretorius Paul Roos
23 Quan Eymann Brackenfell 23 Duren Hoffman Boland Lb. 23 Darren Hendricks Boland Lb.
24     24 Phillip van Dyk Paul Roos 24    
      25 Herman le Roux Boland Lb.      

1 Comment

  1. For those who wonders why Boishaai are often called the country,s prop factory, just the following stats. Since 2009, and up up till 2018, (i.e. the last 10 years), at least one Boishaai prop have been included in the WP Cravenweek side. Two of these (Frans Malherbe and Thomas Du Toit), are current Springboks. Others are playing senior Currie Cup rugby.

    2009 – Frans Malherbe
    2010 – Maks van Dyk
    2011 – Jacobus van der Merwe
    2012 – Liam Hendricks and Wesley Adonis
    2013 – Thomas Du Toit and Francois van der Merwe
    2014 – Wikus Groenewald
    2015 – Wikus Groenewald and Leo-Roubert Kruger
    2016 – Adam Neethling and Reece Bezuidenhout
    2017 – Joshua Du Preez
    2018 – Roubert Bester

    Do you agree that this is not bad stats for one school?


Leave a Reply