Former Bok takes charge of Free State u19

Melusi Mthethwe’s reward for his outstanding achievement of guiding Free State under-19 to the Currie Cup final last year came in the form of a promotion to the Free State under-21 head coaching position this year. It is definitely a step up but a nightmare post if one considers that Free State / Cheetahs participate in both the Pro14 and the senior Currie Cup while the under-21 champs are underway. It mean that senior pro rugby is where the Union’s priorities lie and junior rugby coaches have to work around this in terms of availability of players and match preparations.

Mthethwe’s assistant in 2017, CUT Varsity Cup head coach and former Springbok hooker Tiaan Liebenberg now takes over as under-19 coach. Free State have been very good at making their junior budget go really far. This year’s under-19 team could prove to be competitive and the cherry on top for youngsters is the potential for advancement and exposure thanks to the senior rugby opportunities and coaching cannot be bettered in anywhere else in SA.

Free State gets their season underway with a home match against the Leopards.

1 Cameron Dawson Paul Roos 1 Beast Sangweni Sarel Cilliers
2 Janus Venter EG Jansen 2 Rory Leijdekkers Noord Kaap
3 John-Henry Fincham Grey College 3 Arno Gustafson Potch Gim
4 Elrigh Louw Transvalia 4 George van der Westhuizen Potch Gim
5 Deon Van Niekerk Noord-Kaap 5 MC Janse van Rensburg
6 Ruben Roodt Garsfontein 6 Humphries Du Randt Monument
7 Johan Wilken Grey College 7 Kagiso Woodbrigde Pretoria BH
8 Ruwald Van Der Merwe Rustenburg 8 Andries Fouche Rustenburg
9 Jacques Van Biljon Stellenberg 9 Sylvester Hassien Outeniqua
10 Mark Morrison KES 10 Tristan Oosthuizen Helpmekaar
11 PJ Krugell Waterkloof 11 Truimp Boloyi Goudveld
12 James Mollentze Outeniqua 12 Emilio Otto Outeniqua
13 Ayabonga Matroos Grey HS 13 Mitchell van der Merwe Potch Gim
14 Juandre Sabbat Brandwag 14 Reinard Jordaan Transvalia
15 Charles Williams Diamantveld 15 Heinrich Botha Midstream
16 Nyiko Ntlemo Ben Vorster 16 AJ Meyer Marais Viljoen
17 Willem Marais Grey College 17 Ruben Du Plessis Rustenburg
18 Zean Augustyn Duineveld 18 Craivian Smith Lichtenburg
19 Steffan Schoeman 19 Handro Horn Zwartkop
20 Andre Hanekom Stellenberg 20 Chris Vermaak Zwartkop
21 Divan de Clerk Garsfontein 21 Uys Du Preez HTS Middelburg
22 Noko Malatji Merensky 22 John Keevy Helpmekaar
23 Luke Hertz Oakdale 23 Bertru Jones Lichtenburg

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply